Dakota County Homes For Sale

Homes for sale in Dakota County provide quiet, community-centered living on safe streets. Not only does living in Dakota County put you near the Mall of America, downtown St. Paul, and other fantastic metropolitan attractions, but offers great schools and a small-town feel.

Median Home Price: $227,000

Dakota County


Dakota County is filled with a wide variety of recreational resources for residents to take advantage of. From Lebanon Hills Regional Park, perfect for kayaking, hiking, biking, and more; to Spring Lake Park Reserve; to Whitetail Woods Regional Park; and countless local parks and trails, it’s no wonder those who love the outdoors love living in Dakota County. Whether you love swimming, skating, snow mobiling, or any other recreational activity, you’ll find it here.


If you love shopping, Dakota County is filled with a plethora of shopping areas perfect for finding whatever you’re looking for. From the high-end outlets at Twin Cities Premium Outlets in Eagan, to shopping centers like Town & Country Square in Burnsville and all of the retail along Robert Street in West St. Paul, there is truly something for everyone. Plus, the Mall of America is located just beyond the county line in Bloomington.


Dining in Dakota County offers everything you could ever want, whether you’re looking for a fast food favorite or something new and exotic. A few hotspots include Indian Zayka in Eagan, which serves mouthwatering Indian cuisine; The Valley Tap House in Apple Valley, great for amazing barbecue; and Jerseys Bar and Grill in Inver Grove Heights, featuring fantastic build-your-own-burgers just to name a few. The dining options are virtually endless in Dakota County, so you’re sure to find a new favorite.


Dakota County is dedicated to maintaining a sustainable community. Several county facilities have been built/upgraded to operate more sustainably, including: the Dakota Lodge in West St. Paul, the Lebanon Hills Visitor Center and Trailhead in Eagan, and the Robert Trail Library in Rosemount. The county continues to pursue sustainability in all of their facilities and operations.


Dakota County school districts include the following:

  • Burnsville-Eagan-Savage Public Schools, ISD 191
  • Cannon Falls Public Schools, ISD 252
  • Farmington Public Schools, ISD 192
  • Hastings Public Schools, ISD 200
  • Inver Grove Heights Public Schools, ISD 199
  • Lakeville Public Schools, ISD 194
  • Northfield Public Schools, ISD 659
  • Randolph Public Schools, ISD 195
  • Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan Public Schools, ISD 196
  • South Saint Paul Public Schools, Special District 6
  • West St. Paul-Mendota Heights-Eagan Area Schools, ISD 197


The following providers support public transportation in Dakota County:

  • MetroTransit
  • Minnesota Valley Transit Authority (MVTA)
  • Metro Mobility
  • Rideshare Information
  • TransitLink

Local Government

Dakota County is governed locally by the county Board of Commissioners, which consists of seven members elected by their respective districts. This governing body is responsible for overseeing the collective county operations and budgets.

City History

Dakota County was founded in 1849, extending hundreds of miles further west than it does today, all the way to the Missouri River. The county was reduced in size nine years later, in 1858, when Minnesota gained Statehood. Dakota County is home to the first European settlement in Minnesota – Mendota – and over the years has grown into the third-most populous county in the state with 408,500 residents.

About Dakota County